Rebirth Brass Band – latest brass band to blow me away


I recently made a trip to Waterloo Records and grabbed the first thing that jumped out at me: Rebirth of New Orleans, by the Rebirth Brass Band. It pretty much blows me away. I discovered them last Mardi Gras, when I was digging through Youtube, looking for music from New Orleans.

They remind me a bit of the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, a group I got to see in Austin a few years ago. It’s a great jazzy mixture of New Orleans second line, funk and hip hop. Great horn playing. It’s also an interesting segue from the last batch of CD purchases I made, featuring Balkan brass band music, much of it created by European Gypsies.

In both cases, you have extremely skilled musicians from cultures that know what it’s like to go through bad times — yet they still know how to enjoy life and spread that joy to others. In short, they have passion.

This isn’t on the latest album, but it’s awesome — The Rebirth Brass Band in the French Quarter, in 2008:

Now check this out:

Kinda different, but kinda the same too, don’t you think?

3 Comments

Filed under funk, music, roots, world music

3 responses to “Rebirth Brass Band – latest brass band to blow me away

  1. Love brass bands and Rebirth is awesome! Thanks for posting about them!

    • Pretty irresistible aren’t they? I wish I had understood the rockin’ potential of acoustic band music when I was a kid. I grew up around it Dad was a band director & I played in the high school band. Back then it was assumed you needed electric guitar/bass/drums to rock out. I’m so grateful to bands like this for opening my ears.

  2. Pingback: Top albums and artist discoveries of 2011 | The MusicMissionary

Leave a Reply

