Attention graphic designers: Ain’t no saguaros in Texas!

Please stop doing this!

I was watching a TV show the other night that involved Texas. I was kind of getting into it when they went and committed one of my biggest pet peeves. They put up a little graphic of Texas and wouldn’t you know it had a dad gum saguaro cactus on it. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen people do that. Usually it’s people who aren’t from here, but even people who grew up in Texas will put them on restaurant menus, signs and postcards. They never saw one except on Roadrunner cartoons, but I guess they figure it’s a big state, maybe if they had gone over the one last hill they would’ve seen saguaros. We have plenty of cactuses and other prickly things, but no saguaros. Sorry to disappoint.

Apparently I’m not the only Texan bothered by cacti confusion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

