Bubblegum Octopus – Breakcore? Chiptunes? Not sure what it is, but I like it

I didn’t get a chance to check out Bubblegum Octopus (aka Matthew “Matt the Cat”) at SXSW, but I’ve been hunting down Youtube vids for the past several days and I’m very impressed. It was confusing the first time I heard it – wasn’t sure if I loved it or hated it — but that’s often a tell-tale sign of something really creative and different. The sound is what I’ve come to think of as chiptunes — songs made to sound like video game music. His singing alternates between straight-up, funny falsetto and a black metal growl. Also he likes to sing about cats. Listen for yourself.

I was a bit bummed that I didn’t get to see him  at the No Strings show on Sunday. He got vertigo and nausea and had to cancel. I’m also disappointed that he got a bad impression of Austin because he had some “tools” in the audience at a couple of shows. I want to think those people were from out of town. I’ve seen meatheads at SXSW before, guys who talked and shouted and clinked their beers during shows. With the big influx of people for SXSW, it is fairly likely they were from out of town, but every city has some of those, even Austin. I think maybe he just wound up in the wrong venues? I hope he will forgive us in time, because I really want to see him perform someday.

Anyway, I think Matt the Cat is a unique artist who deserves to be heard. Check him out and send a little love his way if you can afford it.

Leave a comment

Filed under chiptunes, indie rock, music, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

