Waiting outside a store so you can buy Chinese-made junk at 4 a.m. – Americans, are you insane?

I just have to get this off my chest. What in the world is up with this Black Friday crap? I know everyone has to buy things, me included. But this stampede of folks trampling on one another (sometimes literally) so they can buy things at the same time on the day after Thanksgiving is completely ridiculous. Even more ridiculous is the idea that this is somehow crucial to the country’s economic survival. That if you don’t get out there and spend spend spend, you’re somehow unpatriotic.

I’ve got news for anybody who thinks that: Americans are not going to dig the country out of this hole by spending money we don’t have buying things we don’t need. It doesn’t even put Americans to work since we don’t make any of that crap any more. Maybe some temporary minimum wage jobs wrapping presents, but who gives a rat’s ass? That’s not going to help anybody fight off foreclosure.

I think this consumerism is the sign of a very sick culture. We’re not going to become a great nation again by buying stuff from other countries, especially since we have less and less money to buy it with. Sooner or later, we’re going to have to figure out how to MAKE things again. Things we want and things the rest of the world wants. Till we figure out how to do that, all the Black Fridays in the world aren’t going to make a difference.

Here’s an idea: If you need something, buy it. If you don’t, don’t. If not buying things you don’t need means some companies will crash and burn… It was probably going to happen sooner or later anyway. Might as well get it over with.

If you do have a few bucks burning a hole in your bank account, why not get a little bit smaller big screen TV and buy some music and try to earn back some of the good karma you lost downloading mp3s off peer to peer networks? I imagine some of the starving musicians wrapping your presents tomorrow would appreciate that.

/rant

2 Comments

Filed under but I digress

2 responses to “Waiting outside a store so you can buy Chinese-made junk at 4 a.m. – Americans, are you insane?

  1. I don’t live there anymore, but I think the UK is experiencing a similar problem, i.e. not making things anymore. Both our countries grew great because of our manufacturing base, and now that’s all but gone. when I was in the States, earlier this year, I was amazed to find two of the iconic things I bought there, blue leather cowboy boots, and a New Orleans Saints mug – were both made in China, and I found that very sad.

    By the way, talking about buying music instead of peer to peering it: did you find my comment in elsewhere in your blog? I can send you a review copy of my new album (three trax about Austin on it) if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

