Doleful Lions put indie spin on Halloween

I thought it was pretty awesome when my last post about Halloween received a reply from a musician I really like. Jonathan Scott of The Doleful Lions dropped by to thank me for including his song “The Rats Are Coming the Werewolves Are Here” in my list of favorite songs for Halloween. The album was one of my favorite discoveries from the indie label Parasol Records. It was the only Doleful Lions album I ever bought, but that is definitely going to change.

I love the way the band, fronted by Jonathan and usually accompanied by his brother Robert, combines campy yet macabre lyrics with catchy pop melodies.

Jonathan informed me that the band will release a new album on Halloween called Let’s Break Bobby Beausoleil Out Of Prison. A free two-song EP called Halloween Is Coming can be downloaded for free. Stream it and see what you think:

And here is the song that grabbed my attention years ago and is still on my list of favorites:

Check out the band’s Facebook page and MySpace page.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

