Dandelion Radio, awesome online station

Found something cool that I’ve been enjoying quite a bit the last few days, an online station called Dandelion Radio, inspired by the late British DJ John Peel.

The station plays a very eclectic mix, full of obscure indie music, world music, experimental noise, you name it. I’m not crazy about everything I hear (now and then he plays rave music. Blech.) but mostly I love it, and I’ve come across some great discoveries. In particular, I really liked The Crocodiles’ cover of Deee Lite’s “Groove is in the Heart,” which puts a shoegazer Jesus and Mary Chain type spin on the hit. Barely recognized it at first. I was also impressed to find that they were playing “The Groupie Song” by The Venopian Solitude, the young Malaysian singer/songwriter I featured previously on this blog. In fact, that’s how I found the station. Did a web search and she turned up in his playlist. I figured that was a sure sign of good taste and an adventurous musical ethic.

Check him out when you get a chance: DandelionRadio.com

And get a load of The Crocodiles version of “Groove is in the Heart.” I saw some YouTube comments bashing them for sounding too much like JAMC, but I don’t think so. Kind of a surf thing going on in it that I don’t remember from that band.

1 Comment

Filed under experimental, indie, indie pop, indie rock, music, rock, trip hop, Uncategorized, video, world music

One response to “Dandelion Radio, awesome online station

  1. Pingback: ‘Crocodiles Radio’ in LastFM neo-post-punk, goth, noise, etc. « The MusicMissionary

Leave a Reply

