Jim White – still hard at work writing, making music

Jim White was kind enough to send me a personal e-mail after I posted about my last blog post on his forum. Apparently he’s been very busy lately and has a lot of great stuff in the works.

Thanks for the kind words. At present I’m at work on 3 albums, and while I’ve never been intoxicated by the notion of commercial success, I certainly wouldn’t avoid it if it came knocking down my door.

I’ve got a book of short stories about done. It’ll be called Incidental Contact, and details odd encounters I’ve had while wandering the fringes of culture.

The 3 albums are as follows:

An album of music I wrote for a Sam Shepherd play recently staged at Julliard Music School up in NYC.

An album of classical guitar etudes written by me in the 1980s when I only had 2 fingers that worked on my fretting hand due to a table saw accident. These songs are performed by the guitarist for the Georgia Classical Music Quintet.

An official Jim White album. I recently broke free of my label and so the album should reflect my newfound autonomy. The songs range from straight old time country to blues/jazz hybrids.

I appreciate you devoting your time to helping me out. Good luck with your endeavors.

Jim White

Leave a comment

Filed under alt-country, blues, experimental, folk, indie pop, indie rock, one you might've missed, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

