Accordionista Dave Thomas – young musician to watch

“A gentleman is a man who can play the accordion – but doesn’t.” When I was a kid I used to think that joke was funny and right on the money. I have since had to revise that opinion many times over. Conjunto, zydeco, French cafe music… So much of my favorite music features the accordion that I have to say it’s one of my favorite instruments. While poking around on Youtube, I found Dave Thomas, a young English guy who makes such beautiful music on the accordion, I had to pass it along. A lot of his videos feature covers of Yann Tiersen (the guy who made the music for the movie Amelie, of which more later, he’s a big favorite), but he also writes his own music. Here he is playing a song he wrote called “The Skeleton’s Waltz.” He wrote it for a fashion show, which in context makes the title wickedly funny. I love the way he’s gone totally indie, using Youtube to market himself. Not much going on in the videos, just Dave and his accordion, and sometimes a piano, but the music really sells itself. I hope he gets the attention he deserves, because I think he’s a real talent.

2 Comments

Filed under indie, one to watch

2 responses to “Accordionista Dave Thomas – young musician to watch

  1. geronimodeleon

    Thanks for the tip!
    The kid can play : )

  2. Very welcome. I love finding these underground talents. I love it even better when they manage to find success on their own terms. Hopefully it will happen for this guy.

Leave a Reply

